State of World Population 2013 Resources

The Reports

State of World Population 2013 (PDF) English Français Español Russian Arabic Chinese

 

Media Outreach

Press Summary (PDF) English Français Español Russian Arabic
Press Release English Français Español Russian Arabic
Statement of Dr. Babatunde Osotimehin, Executive Director of UNFPA English Français Español Russian Arabic
Cover Image Poster (PDF )          

 

Additional Resources

Ten facts about adolescent pregnancy English  Français Español Russian Arabic
Supplement: I am Not a Lost Cause!: Young Women’s Empowerment and Teenage Pregnancy in the Pacific

 

Photographs

Abriendo Oportunidades offers safe spaces, mentoring, educational opportunities and solidarity for adolescent Mayan girls. It also introduces new possibilities into their lives.

© Mark Tuschman/UNFPA

Download the high resolution version.

Sixteen-year-old Usha Yadab, class leader for Choose Your Future, a UNFPA-supported programme in Nepal that teaches girls about health issues and encourages the development of basic life skills.

© UNFPA/William Ryan

Download the high resolution version.

A 13-year-old fistula patient at a VVF centre in Nigeria.

© UNFPA/Akintunde Akinleye

Download the high resolution version.

Hortência, 25, developed an obstetric fistula at 17, during a complicated delivery.

© UNFPA/Pedro Sá da Bandeira

Download the high resolution version.

Girls in Rajasthan, India learning to read.

© Mark Tuschman/Educate Girls India

Download the high resolution version.

Life-skills class, Ethiopia

© Mark Tuschman/Planned Parenthood Global

Download the high resolution version.

 

Video Resources for Broadcast

The link accesses broadcast-quality video material related to the report. This includes:

 

  • Main story, b-roll and sound bites (Length 2:59) Raw footage, transcripts and shot list on State of World Population 2013 featuring footage from Bosnia and Herzegovina. Produced version included.
  • Executive Director interview sound bites (Length 6:47) Sound bites from UNFPA Executive Director, Dr Babatunde Osotimehin
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina  (Length 4:56) Raw footage, transcripts and shot list on adolescent pregnancy from Bosnia and Herzegovina.
  • Darfur (Length  3:00) Raw footage, transcripts and shot list on adolescent pregnancy from Darfur.
  • Nicaragua (Length 3:41) Raw footage, transcripts and shot list on adolescent pregnancy from Nicaragua.
  • Laos (Length 2:55) Raw footage, transcripts and shot list on adolescent pregnancy from Laos.

Download Video Resources

Youth in transit. Adolescent Pregnancy (YouTube link.)

 

Additional Features

Teenage Pregnancy is Way of Life in Remote Laotian Villages
“First School, Then Marriage and Babies”
Six South African Women Share Their Experiences as Adolescent Mothers (AUDIO)
Jamaica Offers a Model for Preventing Adolescent Pregnancies while Supporting Young Mothers
Breaking the Wall of Silence, Women and Girls in Morocco Open Up about Adolescent Pregnancy
Using Social Media to Empower Madagascar’s Youth
Young People in Uganda Share Stories and Views on Adolescent Pregnancy

 

Background Documents

Adolescent Pregnancy: A review of the evidence
Adolescent Pregnancy: The human rights dimension

 

For media inquiries, please contact the following

Launch cities, contacts (as of 5 November) 

 

EUROPE AFRICA

London
Matt Gould
matthew.gould@portland-communications.com
Tel. +44 (0) 207 822 1721

Paris
Michel Aublanc
michel.aublanc@orange.fr
Tel. +33 1 692 86 286

Brussels
Sietske Steneker
steneker@unfpa.org
Tel. +322 550 18 30

Copenhagen
Pernille Fenger
fenger@unfpa.org
Tel. +45 35 467 033

Geneva
Leyla Alyanak
alyanak@unfpa.org
Tel. +41 79 687 6056

Istanbul
Jens-Hagen Eschenbächer
alyanak@unfpa.org
Tel. +41 79 687 6056

Dakar
Hugues Kone
kone@unfpa.org
Tel. +221 33 859 8231

Johannesburg
Adebayo Fayoyin
fayoyin@unfpa.org  
Tel.    +27 11 603 530
ASIA & THE PACIFIC
Bangkok
William A. Ryan
ryanw@unfpa.org
Tel. +66 2 687 0118
UNITED STATES & CANADA
ARAB STATES

New York
Richard Kollodge
kollodge@unfpa.org
Tel. +1 212 297 4992

Omar Gharzeddine
gharzeddine@unfpa.org
Tel. +1 212 297 5028

Mandy Kibel
kibel@unfpa.org
Tel. +1 212 297 5293

Cairo
Aicha Elbasri
elbasri@unfpa.org  
Tel.  +202 270 67040