The NGO Advisory Panel

The NGO Advisory Panel

The NGO Advisory Panel provides a formal mechanism for dialogue between civil society representatives and UNFPA senior management. It serves as a strategic advisory body and sounding board on key issues. The first panel was set up in 2010, which included 12 representatives from national, regional, and global NGOs and networks that work on issues related to the ICPD Programme of Action.

The panel offers NGO perspectives on UNFPA advocacy strategies, including specific initiatives related to the ICPD agenda. It advises the Fund on new development trends and opportunities and challenges in the external environment. It also recommends possible areas for action.

The new panel comprised of 14 representatives took up its new mandate in 2013 and comprised of the below representatives.

Panel Members

Ana Cristina Gonzales, Member, Articulacion Feminista MarcoSur (Colombia)

Sandra Castañeda, General Coordinator, Latin American And Caribbean Women's Health Network (LACWHN) (Ecuador)

Gamal Serour, Director, Al-Azhar Centre for Reproductive Health and Population Studies (Egypt)

Lynn Darwich, Spokesperson, Coalition for Sexual and Bodily Rights in Muslim Societies (Lebanon)

Ramon San Pascual, Executive Director, Asian Forum of Parliamentarians on Population and Development (Thailand)

Ms. Sivananthi Thanenthiran, Executive Director, ARROW (Malaysia)

Danny Sriskandarajah, Secretary General, CIVICUS (South Africa)

Adenike Esiet, Executive Director, Action Health Incorporation (Nigeria)

Nyaradzayi Gumbonzvanda, World Young Women's Christian Association (YWCA) (Geneva)

Serge Rabier, Chair, The European NGOs for Sexual and Reproductive Health and Rights, Population and Development (EuroNGOs) - (Belgium)

Tewodros Melesse, Director General, International Planned Parenthood Federation (IPPF) (United Kingdom)

Lakshmi Sundaram, Global Coordinator, Girls’ not Brides (United Kingdom)

Francoise Girard, President, International Womens’ Health Coalition (USA)

Margarita Nelyubova , Coordinator, Russian Orthodox Church (Russia)